See more from: Music

Please note: this event is in the past

Concert for peace

Eminent pianist Julian Jacobson is joined by some of the country’s finest wind players at Lauderdale House, in a concert of French music by the group of composers known as ‘Les Six’.

This title was coined in 1920 by the critic Henri Collet, in recognition of their shared aim of writing music that showed no influence of earlier musical giants like Wagner or Debussy. Even so, each of the six possessed strong individuality, and they often pursued very different paths.  

Since 1983, Musicians for Peace (formerly named Musicians Against Nuclear Arms) have been organising events which raise funds for the peace movement. The famous guitarist John Williams OBE is MPD’s President, and many leading figures from different areas of music make up the list of Patrons.

The programme encompasses a huge range of styles, and includes works for different combinations of instruments, ending with Poulenc’s ebullient Sextet. Along the way, we will hear solos for several instruments; duos including Poulenc’s Élégie for horn and piano, written in memory of Denis Brain, and providing a darker, more serious foil to the generally lighter style of the other works; a trio by Louis Durey – one of the lesser known names – and Milhaud’s popular wind quintet La cheminée du roi René, which evokes the atmosphere of the court of René 1 in the 15th century.

Although MPD is proud of the exceptional quality of its performances, it is important to remember why they are being given. At many of the concerts, a well-known figure is invited to give a short address. Past speakers have included Donald Soper, Tony Benn, Jeremy Corbyn, Bruce Kent, Caroline Lucas and Kate Hudson. For this event we are delighted to welcome Catherine West, MP for Hornsey and Wood Green.  

Please be aware that if you are selecting the ticket price with a donation included, this donation will go to MPD. Any optional donations added separately will go to Lauderdale House.

Many thanks to Markson Pianos, who loan their Erard piano to Lauderdale House.


Julian Jacobson - piano
Ileana Ruhemann - flute 
Christopher O'Neal - oboe
Tony Lamb - clarinet
Philip Gibbon - bassoon
Jo Withers - horn


Darius Milhaud - La cheminée du roi René (wind quintet) 

Georges Auric - Theme from Moulin Rouge (piano solo) 

Georges Auric - Adieu, New York! (piano solo) 

Francis Poulenc - Élégie (horn & piano) 

Louis Durey - Divertissement Op 107 (oboe, clarinet & bassoon) 

Arthur Honegger - Danse de la chèvre (flute solo) 

Germaine Tailleferre - Sarabande (flute & clarinet) 

Germaine Tailleferre - Arabesque (clarinet & piano) 

Louis Durey - Trois pièces brèves (oboe solo) 

Francis Poulenc - Sextet